IPPY Book Awards

The Independent Publisher Book Awards (IPPY) Book Awards – Final entry deadline is February 23, 2019

The Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award are probably the most well known and prestigious, but other book awards exist specifically for self-published or small press books.

Book awards can be tremendously valuable to the marketing efforts of the winning books.

When a book wins an award, the result is free publicity for the author and usually additional book sales.

About IPPY Awards

The Independent Publisher Book Awards is one of the most established and most recognized independent book awards event in the world.

Launched in 1996, these wards are designed to bring increased recognition to the deserving but often unsung titles published by independent authors and publishers.

Established as the first unaffiliated awards program open exclusively to independents, the “IPPYs” recognize hundreds of the year’s best books, bringing them to the attention of booksellers, buyers, librarians, and book lovers.

The Independent Publisher Book Awards contest is now accepting entries from independent authors and publishers with books intended for an English speaking audience. Books released between January 1, 2017 and February 23, 2019, or with 2017-2019 copyrights are eligible. Entry fee is $95 per title, per category with a $55 ‘add-on’ fee for regional/eBook entries.

How to Enter

There are two ways to enter: online with a credit card or the printable entry form to pay by check. Ship books with entry form tucked inside the front cover– the final step in the online entry process is printing out mailing instructions.  Results will be announced on about April 10, 2019. The award ceremony will be held on the eve of BookExpo in NYC, in late May, at the Copacabana Times Square.

Entry fees are $95 per title/per category. Regional and eBook category entries are just $55 when added to a general category entry for the same title. This a “postmark deadline,” so you can enter right up to the deadline and send books to arrive for judging the following week.

Note: All entries are automatically considered for Outstanding Books of the Year Awards at no extra charge.

Ebook category entries can be uploaded at the end of the online entry process, or you can send via attachment (PDF, EPUB, MOBI), via DropBox, or you can use Kindle Gift or provide iTunes access code.


Independent publishers, university presses, self-publishers and independent authors who publish books intended for an English speaking audience may enter. Books released between January 1, 2017 and February 23, 2019, or with 2017-2019 copyrights, are eligible. Books with release dates after the deadline may be entered if they carry a 2019 copyright and if a good judging copy is available.

You can download an Excel spreadsheet to use to log award entries below. This is just one of many forms and checklists available through the Professional Author Assistant Training and Certification Program.

Download an Excel version of the log on this page to use with authors

For more details about the IPPY Awards, or to send press materials, please contact:

Jim Barnes, Managing Editor & Awards Director
Jenkins Group
1129 Woodmere Ave, Ste B
Traverse City, MI 49696
IndependentPublisher.com / Jenkins Group
Ph: 1.800.644.0133 x 1011 / jimb@bookpublishing.com


Leave a Comment